# Minutes of Sunrise Elementary Community Council Meeting Meeting Date: October 12<sup>th</sup> 2015 Meeting Held in the Conference Room

Meeting called to order at 3:30 pm

#### Attendance:

Members in Attendance: Toni Gibbons, Kathy Toolson, Laura Chatterton, Katelyn Ballif, Becky Chadwick, Richelle Andersen, Jolene Low

Members not in Attendance: Stefani Thatcher, Stephanie Austin, Lynette Sessions, Jana Atkinson, Sheri Egbert, Julie Ashcroft, Kelly Haramoto, Alicia Vicars, Debbie Lee

## **Adoption of Documents:**

### **Approval of September 2015 Minutes**

Toni Gibbons moved to approve the September 2015 minutes as read Kathy Toolson seconded the motion

All in favor

#### **Reports:**

#### **Final Report**

Kathy reported to the council that she is currently working on last year's final report.

## Safe Technology Policy

Kathy passed out a copy of the Safe Technology Policy to the council members and went over the policy talking about the Appropriate Use Policy, Netsmartz training, District internet filters, etc..

#### **New member on Community Council**

Jolene Low (teacher) is a new member on the council this year

#### **Community Council Training**

No one will be attending the training coming up on the 9<sup>th</sup> at Spring Creek

#### **Leadership Day**

The Lighthouse team met and discussed ways to simplify the Leader in Me Leadership Day requirements by proposing they count programs that classes are already doing such as Character Counts, etc., that go hand in hand with the Leader in Me program rather than do more for leadership day. They talked about making sure these current programs meet the requirements for Leadership Day by possibly expanding on them.

## **Leader in Me Award Ceremony**

Kathy reported to the council that this year teachers will hand out the Leader in Me awards to the students in their classroom. There will be a short assembly for awarding of the Principal's Award four times a year. At that time, the Sunlight team will take the kids on a victory lap around the gym. The Sunlight team will MC this event.

#### **New Business:**

## Nomination of 2015/2016 Chair and Co-Chair

Katelyn Ballif moved to retain Stephanie Thatcher as the Community Council Chair and Becky Chadwick as the Co-Chair for the school year 2015/2016 Toni Gibbons seconded the motion All in Favor

#### **Meeting Adjourned**

Katelyn Ballif moved to close the meeting Toni Gibbons seconded the motion All in favor

**Next Meeting:** November 9<sup>th</sup> 2015