## HARBORFIELDS CENTRAL SCHOOL DISTRICT GREENLAWN, NEW YORK

# MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL ELECTION AND BUDGET VOTE MEETING MAY 19, 2015

The Annual Election and Budget Vote Meeting of May 19, 2015 was called to order at 1:40 p.m. by Maryann Viglucci, so appointed by the Board of Education as Chairperson, at their Regular meeting of February 11, 2015.

Mrs. Viglucci led the inspectors in the Pledge of Allegiance. She announced the Emergency Procedure Drill and instructed those in attendance where to exit the building in case of an emergency. The District Clerk administered the Oath of Office to the Chief Inspector, Chairperson, and Inspectors of Election.

Mrs. Viglucci announced that the District Clerk, Sharon Whelan, will serve as Clerk of the Meeting as provided in Education Law.

The District Clerk announced that the purpose of this meeting is as follows:

- 1. To elect three members of the Board of Education for the Harborfields Central School District.
- 2. To consider and vote upon the annual school district budget in the amount of \$80,473,955 for the 2015-16 school year which was adopted by the Board of Education in accordance with Education Law and the necessary taxes therefore be levied upon the taxable property of said school district.
- 3. To consider and vote upon the proposition to establish a new capital reserve fund (Capital Reserve Fund 2015).

Ms. Whelan advised that the Notice of the Budget Hearing and Election has been published four times in *The Long Islander* and *Times of Huntington* on April 2, 2015, April 16, 2015, April 30, 2015 and May 14, 2015.

A motion was made by Irene Levee, seconded by Joanne Guido, and carried unanimously, to dispense with the reading of the "Official Notice."

The District Clerk read the qualifications of a voter.

- 1. A citizen of the United States
- 2. 18 years of age or older
- 3. District resident for the past 30 days

The District Clerk announced that the Board of Education had appointed and notification in writing had been sent to the Chief Inspector and the following Inspectors of Election:

| Kathleen Riker, Chief Inspector |                       |                    |  |
|---------------------------------|-----------------------|--------------------|--|
| Laura Antonison *               | Lottie Bennett *      | Joan Caldarella *  |  |
| Theresa Damm                    | Lawrence Davis *      | Jackie Dwyer       |  |
| Barbara Endres *                | Helen Gillen Flanders | Shelly Feinman     |  |
| Rose Gangi *                    | Joann Guido           | Barbara Hanna      |  |
| Claire Intemann *               | Irene Levee           | Mary MacDonnell *  |  |
| Dena Maldon *                   | Jacque Martello       | Carol O'Hea        |  |
| Lorri O'Malley                  | Janet Palacios *      | Janice Perdikoylis |  |
| Jane Pressman *                 | Carol Ann Queally *   | Ronald Sabo *      |  |
| Kate Shreck                     | Irene Smith *         | Carol Solimando    |  |
| Marilyn Valeo                   |                       |                    |  |

<sup>\*</sup>These inspectors are certified by the Suffolk County Board of Elections as required to use the new scanner machines.

At the April 22, 2015 meeting, the Board of Education authorized the District Clerk to hire additional inspectors of election if necessary.

Mr. Ronald Sabo was unable to serve as Inspector of Election. Ms. Marianna Price was appointed by the District Clerk to serve as an inspector.

The Chairperson announced that a list of all persons to whom an absentee ballot has been sent is on file in the office of the District Clerk. The voting tabulators were inspected by the Chairperson, the Chief Inspector, and the District Clerk. The District Clerk made a note of the serial numbers and ran a zero tape for each tabulator.

At 2:00 p.m. (E.D.S.T.), Mrs. Viglucci declared that the polls were open.

At 8:55 p.m. (E.D.S.T.), Mrs. Viglucci announced that the doors of the polling place would be closed at 9:00 p.m. All persons within the polling place would have an opportunity to vote. At 9:00 p.m. the doors were closed and the polls declared closed.

The Chairperson, District Clerk, and Ms. Irene Gaughan, Board Trustee, observed the opening of the voting tabulators and obtained the closing poll tape to ascertain the results of the voting. Additionally, the absentee ballots were opened, counted, and recorded on the official tally sheet. The results of the election were filled in on the forms provided.

It was requested that there be silence in the auditorium while the closing poll tape was removed from each voting tabulator. The Chairperson, Mrs. Viglucci, read the vote count on each closing poll tape in a voice loud enough so that all persons in the voting room could hear the results. Mrs. Viglucci then stated that the results of the Annual Budget Vote and Election are not official until all close poll tapes and absentee ballots have been tallied and double-checked.

Mrs. Viglucci then announced the results of the election and budget vote.

#### **OFFICIAL RESULTS**

## PROPOSITION #1 – PROPOSED BUDGET

| Yes Votes   | 1,442 |
|-------------|-------|
| No Votes    | 305   |
| Blank Votes | 18    |
| TOTAL VOTES | 1,765 |

### PROPOSITION #2 - ESTABLISHMENT OF NEW CAPITAL RESERVE FUND

| Yes Votes   | 1,365 |
|-------------|-------|
| No Votes    | 355   |
| Blank Votes | 45    |
| TOTAL VOTES | 1,765 |

The following **three** people were elected to seats on the Board of Education for three-year terms commencing July 1, 2015 and ending on June 30, 2018:

- Donald W. Mastroianni
- > Dr. Thomas McDonagh
- Suzie Lustig

Donald W. Mastroianni received a total of 1,017 votes

Dr. Thomas McDonagh received a total of 958 votes

Suzie Lustig received a total of 953 votes

Colleen Rappa received a total of 804 votes

Christopher Kelly received a total of 773 votes

Proposition #1 (Proposed Budget) was declared adopted. Proposition #2 (Establishment of New Capital Reserve Fund) was declared adopted. Mr. Donald W. Mastroianni, Dr. Thomas McDonagh and Suzie Lustig were declared to be elected to three-year terms on the Board of Education. Having received the highest number of votes, Donald W. Mastroianni was deemed elected to fill the remainder of the unexpired term (5/19/15 through 6/30/15), preceding the full term.

Mrs. Viglucci adjourned the meeting at 9:30 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Sharon M. Whelan District Clerk