## HARBORFIELDS CENTRAL SCHOOL DISTRICT GREENLAWN, NEW YORK

## MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL ELECTION MEETING AND BUDGET VOTE, MAY 17, 2011

The Annual Election and Budget Vote Meeting of May 17, 2011 was called to order at 2:40 p.m. by Maryann Viglucci, so appointed by the Board of Education as Chairperson, at their Regular Meeting of February 16, 2011.

Mrs. Viglucci led the inspectors in the Pledge of Allegiance. She announced the Emergency Procedure Drill and instructed those in attendance where to exit the building in case of an emergency. The District Clerk administered the Oath of Office to the Chief Inspector, Chairperson, and Inspectors of Election.

Mrs. Viglucci announced that the District Clerk, Barbara Muller, will serve as Clerk of the Meeting as provided in Education Law.

The District Clerk announced that the purpose of this meeting is as follows:

- 1. To consider and vote upon the annual school district budget proposition #1 in the amount of \$73,975,620 for the 2011-12 school year which was adopted by the Board of Education in accordance with section 1716 of the Education Law and the necessary taxes therefore be levied upon the taxable property of said school district.
- 2. To elect two members of the Board of Education for the Harborfields Central School District.

Ms. Muller advised that the Notice of the Budget Hearing and Election has been published four times in <u>The Long Islander</u> and <u>Times of Huntington</u> March 31, 2011, April 14, 2011, April 28, 2011, and May 5, 2011.

A motion was made by Kate Shreck, seconded by Linda Romandetti, and carried unanimously, to dispense with the reading of the "Official Notice."

The District Clerk read the qualifications of a voter.

- 1. A citizen of the United States
- 2. 18 years of age or older
- 3. District resident for the past 30 days

The District Clerk announced that the Board of Education had appointed, and notification in writing had been sent to the Chief Inspector and the following Inspectors of Election:

Kathleen Riker, Chief Insp.	Barbara Hanna	
Maryann Viglucci, Chairperson	Alicia Hicks	Linda Romandetti
Lottie Bennett	Joyce Hilgeman	Ronald Sabo
Joan Caldarella	Clare Internann	Gerald Schehr
Irene Contopoulos	Irene Levee	Karen Short
Theresa Damm	Ellen Macrae	Kate Shreck
Rose Dougherty	Jacque Martello	Irene Smith
Shelley Feinman	Marie McConnell	Carol Solimando
Joann Guido	Janice Perdikoylis	Loretta Wilson
Helen Gillen Flanders	Carol Ann Queally	Valerie Brosnan

At the March 16, 2011 Board of Education meeting, the Board authorized the District Clerk to hire additional inspectors of election if necessary.

Ron Sabo and Karen Short were unable to serve as Inspectors of Election. Barbara Endres and Kevin Kordula were appointed by the District Clerk to serve as inspectors.

The chairperson announced that a list of all persons to whom an absentee ballot has been sent is on file in the office of the District Clerk. The voting machines were inspected by the Chairperson, the Chief Inspector, and the District Clerk.

At 3:00 P.M. (E.D.S.T.), Mrs. Viglucci declared that the polls were open.

At 9:55 P.M. (E.D.S.T.), Mrs. Viglucci announced that the doors of the polling place would be closed at 10:00 P.M. All persons within the polling place would have an opportunity to vote. At 10:00 P.M. the doors were closed and the polls declared closed.

The Chief Inspector, Chairperson, District Clerk, and Dr, McDonagh locked the machines and applied the seals. The machines were then opened and the results tallied. It was requested that there be silence in the auditorium while the machines were opened. The Chief Inspector read the vote count on each line of each machine. Mrs. Viglucci then stated that the results of the Annual Budget Vote and election are not official until all machines and absentee ballots have been tallied and double-checked.

Mrs. Viglucci then announced the official results of the election.

## OFFICIAL RESULTS

## **BUDGET PROPOSITION #1**

Yes Votes	2068
No Votes	979
Blank Votes	6
TOTAL VOTES	3053

The following **two** people were elected to seats on the Board of Education for a term commencing July 1, 2011 and ending on June 30, 2014:

Nicholas Giuliano 1707

Michael Banks 1560

Samantha Smith received a total of 1342 votes.

Mrs. Viglucci announced the official results. Proposition #1 was declared adopted. Mr Giuliano and Mr. Banks were declared to be elected to three-year terms on the Board of Education.

Mrs. Viglucci adjourned the meeting at 10:15 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Barbara Muller District Clerk