## HARBORFIELDS CENTRAL SCHOOL DISTRICT GREENLAWN, NEW YORK

# MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL ELECTION MEETING AND BUDGET VOTE, MAY 18, 2010

The Annual Election and Budget Vote Meeting of May 18, 2010 was called to order at 2:45 p.m. by Maryann Viglucci, so appointed by the Board of Education as Chairperson, at their Regular Meeting of February 10, 2010.

Mrs. Viglucci led the inspectors in the Pledge of Allegiance. She announced the Emergency Procedure Drill and instructed those in attendance where to exit the building in case of an emergency. The District Clerk administered the Oath of Office to the Chief Inspector, Chairperson, and Inspectors of Election.

Mrs. Viglucci announced that the District Clerk, Barbara Muller, will serve as Clerk of the Meeting as provided in Education Law.

The District Clerk announced that the purpose of this meeting is as follows:

- 1. To consider and vote upon the annual school district budget proposition #1 in the amount of \$71,467,605 for the 2010-11 school year which was adopted by the Board of Education in accordance with section 1716 of the Education Law and the necessary taxes therefore be levied upon the taxable property of said school district. Additionally, to consider and vote on proposition #2 Election Proposition to Change from Separate Specific Seats to At-Large Voting as described on the ballot.
- 2. To elect two members of the Board of Education for the Harborfields Central School District. The first position is for a term of three years to fill the position currently occupied by Gary Schoer. The candidate is Gary Schoer.

The second position is for a term of three years to fill the position currently occupied by Joseph Toles. The candidate is Joseph Toles.

Ms. Muller advised that the Notice of the Budget Hearing and Election has been published four times in <u>The Long Islander</u> and <u>Times of Huntington</u> April 1, 2010, April 15, 2010, April 29, 2010, and May 6, 2010.

A motion was made by Kate Shreck, seconded by Shelley Feinman, and carried unanimously, to dispense with the reading of the "Official Notice."

The District Clerk read the qualifications of a voter.

The District Clerk announced that the Board of Education had appointed, and notification in writing had been sent to the Chief Inspector and the following Inspectors of Election:

Maria Domencetti, Chief Insp.	Alicia Hicks	Linda Romandetti
Maryann Viglucci, Chairperson	Joann Guido	Carol Ann Queally
Lottie Bennett	Alicia Hicks	Kathleen Riker
Irene Contopoulos	Joyce Hilgeman	Linda Romandetti
Joan Caldarella	Clare Internann	Ronald Sabo
Theresa Damm	Irene Levee	Gerald Schehr
Rose Dougherty	Ellen Macrae	Karen Short
Barbara Endres	Jacque Martello	Kate Shreck
Shelley Feinman	Marie McConnell	Irene Smith
Helen Gillen Flanders	Janice Perdikoylis	Carol Solimando

At the March 17, 2010 Board of Education meeting, the Board authorized the District Clerk to hire additional inspectors of election if necessary.

Joann Guido and Irene Contopoulos were unable to serve as Inspectors of Election. Sharon Whelan was appointed by the District Clerk to serve as an inspector.

The chairperson announced that a list of all persons to whom an absentee ballot has been sent is on file in the office of the District Clerk. The voting machines were inspected by the Chairperson, the Chief Inspector, and the District Clerk.

At 3:00 P.M. (E.D.S.T.), Mrs. Viglucci declared that the polls were open.

At 9:55 P.M. (E.D.S.T.), Mrs. Viglucci announced that the doors of the polling place would be closed at 10:00 P.M. All persons within the polling place would have an opportunity to vote. At 10:00 P.M. the doors were closed and the pools declared closed.

The Chief Inspector, Chairperson, District Clerk, and Dr. McDonagh locked the machines and applied the seals. The machines were then opened and the results tallied. It was requested that there be silence in the auditorium while the machines were opened. The Chief Inspector read the vote count on each line of each machine. Mrs. Viglucci then stated that the results of the Annual Budget Vote and election are not official until all machines and absentee ballots have been tallied and double-checked.

Mrs. Viglucci then announced the official results of the election.

#### OFFICIAL RESULTS

### **BUDGET PROPOSITION #1**

Yes Votes	1898
No Votes	941
Blank Votes	85
TOTAL VOTES	2924

## **Change Specific Board Seats to At-Large Election**

Yes Votes	1916
No Votes	763
Blank Votes	245
TOTAL VOTES	2924

**MEMBER OF BOARD OF EDUCATION** for a term commencing July 1, 2010 expiring June 30, 2013 - last incumbent: Gary Schoer

Gary Schoer 1597

**MEMBER OF BOARD OF EDUCATION** for a term commencing July 1, 2010 expiring June 30, 2013 - last incumbent: Joseph Toles

Joseph Toles 1581

Mrs. Viglucci announced the official results. The proposition #1 and #2 were declared adopted. Mr. Schoer and Mr. Toles were declared to be elected to three-year terms on the Board.

Mrs. Viglucci adjourned the meeting at 10:20 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Barbara Muller District Clerk