HARBORFIELDS CENTRAL SCHOOL DISTRICT GREENLAWN, NEW YORK

MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL ELECTION MEETING AND BUDGET VOTE, MAY 19, 2009

The Annual Election and Budget Vote Meeting of May 19, 2009 was called to order at 2:40 p.m. by Maryann Viglucci, so appointed by the Board of Education as Chairperson, at their Regular Meeting of February 11, 2009.

Mrs. Viglucci led the inspectors in the Pledge of Allegiance. She announced the Emergency Procedure Drill and instructed those in attendance where to exit the building in case of an emergency. The District Clerk administered the Oath of Office to the Chief Inspector, Chairperson, and Inspectors of Election.

Mrs. Viglucci announced that the District Clerk, Barbara Muller, will serve as Clerk of the Meeting as provided in Education Law.

The District Clerk announced that the purpose of this meeting is as follows:

1, To elect three members of the Board of Education for the Harborfields Central School District. The first position is for a term of three years to fill the position currently occupied by Maggie Boba. The candidate is Maggie Boba

The second position is for a term of three years beginning May 20, 2009 to fill the position formerly occupied by James T. Brennan. The candidate is Dr. Thomas McDonagh.

The third position is for a term of three years to fill the position currently occupied by Donald W. Mastroianni. The candidate is Donald W. Mastroianni.

2. To consider and vote upon the annual school district budget proposition #1 in the amount of \$69,781,514 for the 2009-10 school year which was adopted by the Board of Education in accordance with section 1716 of the Education Law and the necessary taxes therefore be levied upon the taxable property of said school district. Additionally, to consider and vote on the TJL Roof Reconstruction proposition #2 as described on the ballot.

Ms. Muller advised that the Notice of the Budget Hearing and Election has been published four times in <u>The Long Islander</u> on April 2, 2009, April 9, 2009, May 7, 2009, and May 14, 2009 and in <u>Newsday</u> on April 2, 2009, April 14, 2009, May 7, 2009 and May 14, 2009. Additionally, a revised legal notice was published in <u>Newsday</u> on May 2, 2009 and May 5, 2009 and <u>The Long Islander</u> on May 14, 2009.

A motion was made by Kate Shreck, seconded by Janice Perdikoylis, and carried unanimously, to dispense with the reading of the "Official Notice."

The District Clerk read the qualifications of a voter.

The District Clerk announced that the Board of Education had appointed, and notification in writing had been sent to the Chief Inspector and the following Inspectors of Election:

Maria Domencetti, Chief Insp.	Alicia Hicks	Linda Romandetti
Maryann Viglucci, Chairperson	Clare Intemann	Ron Sabo
Lottie Bennett	Irene Levee	Gerald Schehr
Irene Contopoulos	Jacque Martello	Kate Shreck
Theresa Damm	Marie McConnell	Irene Smith
Barbara Endres	Andrew Muldowney	Carol Solimando
Shelley Feinman	Candy Muldowney	Gloria Stephenson
Helen Gillen Flanders	Janice Perdikoylis	Kenneth Shelby
Joann Guido	Carol Ann Queally	Kitty Verdi
Barbara Hanna	Kathleen Riker	

At the April 28, 2009 Board of Education meeting, the Board authorized the District Clerk to hire additional inspectors of election if necessary.

Lottie Bennett, Marie McConnell, and Ron Sabo were unable to serve as Inspectors of Election. Rose Dougherty, Joyce Hilgeman, and Karen Short were appointed by the District Clerk to take their place.

The chairperson announced that a list of all persons to whom an absentee ballot has been sent is on file in the office of the District Clerk. The voting machines were inspected by the Chairperson, the Chief Inspector, and the District Clerk.

At 3:00 P.M. (E.D.S.T.), Mrs. Viglucci declared that the polls were open.

At 9:55 P.M. (E.D.S.T.), Mrs. Viglucci announced that the doors of the polling place would be closed at 10:00 P.M. All persons within the polling place would have an opportunity to vote. At 10:00 P.M. the doors were closed and the polls declared closed.

The Chief Inspector, Chairperson, District Clerk, and Mr. Toles, and Mr. Banks locked the machines and applied the seals. The machines were then opened and the results tallied. It was requested that there be silence in the auditorium while the machines are opened. The Chief Inspector read the vote count on each line of each machine. Mrs. Viglucci then stated that the results of the Annual Budget Vote and election are not official until all machines and absentee ballots have been tallied and double-checked.

Mrs. Viglucci then announced the official results of the election.

OFFICIAL RESULTS

BUDGET PROPOSITION #1

Yes Votes	1721
No Votes	679
Blank Votes	105
TOTAL VOTES	2505

TJL ROOF RECONSTRUCTION – PROPOSITION #2

Yes Votes	1886
No Votes	541
Blank Votes	72
TOTAL VOTES	2505

MEMBER OF BOARD OF EDUCATION for a term commencing July 1, 2009 expiring June 30, 2012 last incumbent: Maggie Boba

Maggie Boba 1401

MEMBER OF BOARD OF EDUCATION for a term commencing May 20, 2009 expiring June 30, 2012 – last incumbent: James T. Brennan

Dr. Thomas McDonagh 1538

MEMBER OF BOARD OF EDUCATION for a term commencing July 1, 2009 expiring June 30, 2012 – last incumbent: Donald W. Mastroianni

Donald W. Mastroianni 1383

Mrs. Viglucci announced the official results. The proposition #1 and #2 were declared adopted. Mrs. Boba, Dr. McDonagh, and Mr. Mastroianni were declared to be elected to three-year terms on the Board.

Mrs. Viglucci adjourned the meeting at 10:25 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Barbara Muller District Clerk