# REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION

## **APRIL 29, 2008**

#### **PRESENT:**

Doris Fischer Dr. William R. Bolton
Laura Gavey Superintendent of Schools

Michael Greb

Rosemary Natoli Charles Leunig

Everett E. Newman III Deputy Superintendent

Brian J. Sales

## **ABSENT:**

Henry Johnson

Meeting was called to order at 7:30 p.m. by Mr. Brian J. Sales, President, in the Board Conference Room at the Middle School, with the opening exercises and a moment of silent meditation.

Roll Call of Board Members by the District Clerk.

## **FOR CONSIDERATION**

 Motion by Mrs. Fischer, seconded by Mr. Newman to approve the 2008/2009 Administrative Budget for the Western Suffolk Board of Cooperative Educational Services, Second Supervisory District.

Vote: 6 yes. Motion passed.

2. Motion by Mrs. Fischer, seconded by Mr. Greb to approve the following resolution:

## **RESOLUTION**

**BE IT RESOLVED,** that the Board of Education of the Copiague Union Free School District casts its votes for Mrs. Jeannette Santos and Mr. Peter Wunsch to serve three-year terms on the Western Suffolk Board of Cooperative Education Services.

Vote: 6 yes. Motion passed.

## **REPORTS**

There were no reports.

## **CORRESPONDENCE**

There was no correspondence.

## COMMUNICATIONS AND ANNOUNCEMENTS

The next Regular Meeting of the Board of Education is scheduled for Monday, May 5, 2008, at 7:30 p.m. in the Board of Education Conference Room in the Middle School. This will be preceded by an Audit Committee Meeting to review the Federal Single Audit (grants) at 7:15 p.m.

## **UNFINISHED BUSINESS**

There was no unfinished business.

## **NEW BUSINESS**

There was no new business.

# Page 192 April 29, 2008

# **VOICE OF THE BOARD**

Mr. Sales reported on several items from Nassau-Suffolk School Boards Association.

# **VOICE OF THE PEOPLE**

There was no voice of the people.

# **ADJOURNMENT**

Motion by Mrs. Gavey, seconded by Mr. Newman to adjourn the meeting.

Vote: 6 yes. Motion passed.

The meeting was adjourned at 7:34 p.m.

Mary Ellen Ruppert District Clerk