OFFICIAL MINUTES OF THE CALDWELL COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION

The Caldwell County Board of Education met on October 20, 2008, for a community meeting at Hibriten High School.

The following members were present:

Dottie Darsie, Chairman Dr. Sharon S. Pennell, Vice-Chairman Chris Becker Linda Coffey Dr. Helen Hall Tim Hawkins Mike LaBrose

The following administrative staff were present:

Dr. Steve Stone, Superintendent Dr. Caryl B. Burns, Associate Superintendent for Educational Program Services Dr. Jeff Church, Assistant Superintendent for Auxiliary Services Libby Brown, School/Community Services Director Karla Miller, Assistant Finance Officer Stephen Martin, Director of Elementary Education

Chairman Dottie Darsie called the meeting to order at 6:45 PM.

OPENING CEREMONIES

Chairman Dottie Darsie welcomed the community and thanked Lewis Wright, Principal, Hibriten High School, for hosting the meeting.

Lewis Wright, Principal, Hibriten High School, also welcomed the community, the board and recognized the following individuals from The Education Center: Dr. Steve Stone, Superintendent; Dr. Jeff Church, Assistant Superintendent for Auxiliary Services; Dr. Caryl Burns, Associate Superintendent for Educational Program Services; Libby Brown, Director, School Community Relations, Karla Miller, Assistant Finance Officer, Stephen Martin, Director of Elementary Education and Dawn Weese, Administrative Assistant to the Superintendent.

Chris Becker introduced Jamie Lewis, 2008 Educator of the Year, William Lenoir Middle School, who gave the invocation.

Linda Coffey introduced the following students that led the Pledge of Allegiance: Sterling Gilchrist, 2nd Grade, Tynsley Gilchrist, 4th Grade, Tyler Fredericks, 3rd Grade and Ashley Fredericks, 8th Grade, Happy Valley School.

THE NATIONAL ANTHEM

Dr. Helen Hall introduced Dannell Haigler, Anitra Harmon, Courtney Walton, Kamerin McQueen and Jackie Smith, Hibriten High School Students, who sang The National Anthem.

STATUS REPORTS

Tim Hawkins recognized the following elementary schools and introduced the principal presenting the attached status reports for his/her respective school: Julia Curry, Davenport A+ School; Debbie Indicott, Lower Creek Elementary School, Lisa Vaughn, Valmead Elementary School and Annette Swanson, Whitnel School.

Mike LaBrose recognized the following K-8 and middle schools and introduced the principal presenting the attached status reports for his/her respective school: Andy Puhl, Happy Valley School, Milland Bradley, Kings Creek School, Dr. Phyllis Blair, Oak Hill School and Dr. Pete Yount, William Lenoir Middle School.

Vice-Chairman Dr. Sharon S. Pennell recognized the following high schools and introduced the principal presenting the attached status reports for his/her respective school: Grayson Beane, filling in for Debbie Kincaid, Caldwell Career Center Middle College, Bob Henson, Gateway School and Lewis Wright, Hibriten High School.

PUBLIC COMMENT

Chairman Dottie Darsie opened the floor for public comment. There was no public comment.

SPECIAL PRESENTATIONS

Chairman Dottie Darsie introduced the following students that performed the special presentations: "Boil Them Cabbage Down," Davenport A+ Elementary School's Violin, Chorus and Dance Programs; 5th Grade Chorus, "Welcome Back," Kings Creek and Oak Hill School, Amanda Hollifield, Director and Speed Staking, Brain Gym, Whitnel School, Tracy Icenhour, Director.

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting was adjourned at 8:10 P.M.

Signed ____

Chairman, Caldwell County Board of Education

Attest:

Secretary, Caldwell County Board of Education