## OFFICIAL MINUTES OF THE CALDWELL COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION SPECIAL SESSION

The Caldwell County Board of Education met at 5:00 PM on June 30, 2014, in the Board Room of the Education Center, Lenoir, North Carolina.

The following members were present:

Darrell Pennell, Chairman
Tim Hawkins, Vice-Chairman
Dottie Darsie
Linda Coffey
Dr. Helen Hall
Duane Knight
Joe Sims

The following administrative staff members were present:

Dr. Steve Stone, Superintendent

Dr. Trish Johnson, Associate Superintendent for Human Resources

Dr. Caryl Burns, Associate Superintendent for Education Program Services

Dr. Jeff Church, Assistant Superintendent for Auxiliary Services

David Johnson, Finance Director

Libby Brown, School Community Relations Director

Chairman Darrell Pennell called the meeting to order at 5:00 PM.

### **ACTION | APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA**

Upon motion of Mrs. Dottie Darsie and seconded by Dr. Helen Hall, the board unanimously approved the proposed agenda as presented by Darrell Pennell, Chairman.

### ACTION | BUDGET AMENDMENTS PRESENTED BY FINANCE OFFICER DAVID JOHNSON

Upon motion of Mr. Duane Knight, and seconded by Mrs. Dottie Darsie, the Board unanimously approved the attached budget amendments to the State Public School Fund (26,) Federal Grants Fund (27), Local Current Expense Fund (28,) and Child Nutrition Fund (29,) and Enterprise Fund (30) Budget Amendments.

# ACTION | INTERIM 2014-2015 BUDGET REQUEST PRESENTED BY FINANCE OFFICER DAVID JOHNSON

Upon motion of Vice Chairman Tim Hawkins, and seconded by Mr. Joe Sims, the Board unanimously approved the 2014-2015 Interim Budget Request.

# CONVENE TO CLOSED SESSION PURSUANT TO N.C.G.S. 143-318.11 (A) (1) TO DISCUSS PERSONNEL ISSUES and N.C.G.S. 143-318.11 (A) (5) TO DISCUSS A REAL ESTATE MATTER

Upon motion of Mr. Duane Knight, and seconded by Vice Chairman Tim Hawkins, the Board unanimously approved to convene to Closed Session at 5:08 PM.

#### **RECONVENE TO OPEN SESSION**

Upon motion of Vice Chairman Tim Hawkins, and seconded by Dr. Helen Hall, the Board unanimously approve to reconvene to Open Session at 5:50 PM.

## ACTION | ADMINISTRATIVE CONTRACTS PRESENTED BY SUPERINTENDENT DR. STEVE STONE

Upon motion of Dr. Helen Hall, and seconded by Mrs. Dottie Darsie, the Board unanimously approved the following Principals for a 4-year contract: Julia Knight, Gwyn Roop, Libby Carter, David Colwell, Bill Griffin, Jeni McNulty, Leigh Ann Frye, and Lisa Vaughn.

Upon motion of Mr. Duane Knight, and seconded by Dr. Helen Hall, the Board unanimously approved the following Assistant Principals for a 4-year contract: Meredith Belk, Courtney Wright, Rebecca Summers, Julie Hall, and Tommy Puett.

Upon Motion of Vice Chairman Tim Hawkins, and seconded by Mr. Joe Sims, the Board unanimously approved the following Administrators for a 4-year contract: Jill Duffy, Katrina McEllen, Vicki Sproul, and Lesa Widener.

## ACTION | ADMINISTRATIVE RECOMMENDATIONS PRESENTED BY SUPERINTENDENT DR. STEVE STONE

Upon motion of Dottie Darsie, and second by Dr. Helen Hall, the Board unanimously approved the appointment of Chris Ackerman, as Principal of Oak Hill School, effective July 01, 2014, for a two-year contract period.

Upon motion of Vice Chairman Tim Hawkins, and second by Dottie Darsie, the Board unanimously approved the reassignment of Jeff Link. His reassignment is to be determined at a future time.

Upon motion of Dr. Helen Hall, and seconded by Mrs. Dottie Darsie, the Board unanimously approved the appointment of Andrew Puhl, as Principal of West Caldwell High School, effective (to be determined,) for a continuation of his contractual period.

### **ANNOUNCEMENTS**

Chairman Darrell Pennell announced the next regular Board meeting on Monday, July 14, 2014, at the Education Center at 6:00 PM.

#### **ADJOURNMENT**

There being no further business to come before the board and upon motion of Mr. Duane Knight and seconded by Vice Chairman Tim Hawkins, and the unanimous approval of the Board, the meeting was adjourned at 5:55 PM.

Signed:	
Darrell Pennell, Chairman, Caldwell County Board of Education	
Attest:	
Dr. Steve Stone, Secretary, Caldwell County Board of Education	