PROPOSED AGENDA CALDWELL COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION

June 12, 2006 6:00 PM

The following items are included on the agenda with the approval of Dr. Sharon S. Pennell, Chairman. Additional items may be added to the agenda, or the order of business may be changed, at the discretion of the Chairman of the Board.

I. <u>CALL TO ORDER</u>

- II. <u>CLOSED SESSION TO DISCUSS PERSONNEL MATTERS PURSUANT TO N.C.G.S. SECTION 143-318.11 (A) (1)</u>
- III. RECONVENE TO OPEN SESSION AT 7:00 PM
- IV. <u>PUBLIC COMMENT</u> (20 Minute Maximum)
- V. <u>INVOCATION</u> by Tamara Hines, Teacher of the Year, South Caldwell High School
- VI. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE TO THE FLAG by Michael Atkins and Lauren Wagner, Seniors, South Caldwell High School
- VII. APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA

VIII. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Exhibit 1

■ May 8, 2006, Board Meeting

IX. HONORS AND RECOGNITIONS

Exhibit 2

- **A. James Bradshaw, Donna Burch and Lynn Smith** In recognition for their retirement from administrative service with the Caldwell County Schools (Superintendent Dr. Tom McNeel)
- **B.** South Caldwell High School Baseball Team In recognition for placing second in the North Carolina High School Athletic Association State Baseball Class 4A Championship. Jeff Parham, Coach (Helen Beam)
- **C. John Spicer, Hibriten High School** In recognition for his selection as the Caldwell County School's 2006 Educator of the Year (Dottie Darsie)
- **D. Karen Ellison, Dudley Shoals Elementary School** In recognition for her selection as the Caldwell County School's 2006 Teacher Assistant of the Year (Tim Hawkins)
- E. Amanda McLean, William Lenoir Middle School and Mike Miller, Oak Hill School In recognition for receiving the 2006 Corning Outstanding Teachers of the Year Award (Vice-Chairman Mike LaBrose)
- **F.** Tamara Hines, South Caldwell High School In recognition for her selection as the North Carolina Council of Teachers of Mathematics (NCCTM) Outstanding Secondary School Mathematics Teacher for the Caldwell County Schools (Kay Phillips)
- **G. Aaron Tucker, Senior, South Caldwell High School** In recognition for placing second in the tractor driving competition at the FFA State Competition, Ben Kohnle, Instructor (Linda Coffey)
- **H.** William Lenoir 7th/8th Grade Jazz Band Received a Superior rating at the North Carolina District Jazz Band Festival, Terry Reid, Director (Helen Beam)
- **I. Brad Hardee, South Caldwell High School** In recognition for receiving the first annual Clary Medal for the outstanding North Carolina male athlete (Dottie Darsie)

X.	SUPERINTENDENT – Dr. Tom McNeel
	A. For Board Information 1. Update – State ABC Testing Program and Math Curriculum Changes Craig Bryson, Director of Testing/NCWISE and Susan Morgan, Curriculum Consultant
	2. Summary Report - Superintendent Dr. Tom McNeel <u>Exhibit 4</u>
	B. For Board Action 1. 2006-2007 Caldwell Early College High School Calendar 2. Proposed Revision to 2006-2007 Regular School Calendar 3. Administrative Positions Exhibit 5 Exhibit 6 Exhibit 7
XI.	ASSOCIATE SUPERINTENDENT FOR HUMAN RESOURCES – Trish Johnson
	A. For Board Action
	1. Usual and Customary Personnel Matters <u>Exhibit 8</u>
XII.	FINANCE OFFICER – Bob Query A. For Board Action
	1. 2006-2007 Interim Budget Proposal Exhibit 9
	2. Budget Amendments – State Public School Fund, Local Current Expense Fund and Federal Grants Fund Exhibit 10
XIII.	STUDENT SUPPORT SERVICES DIRECTOR – Ervil Anderson
	A. For Board Action
	1. Student Transfer Requests for 2006-2007 <u>Exhibit 11</u>
XIV.	DIRECTOR OF SCHOOL IMPROVEMENT – Dr. Caryl Burns
	A. For Board Action
	1. 2006-2007 Title I Application and 2006-2007 School Improvement Plans Exhibit 12
XV.	DIRECTOR OF CAREER TECHNICAL EDUCATION – Roxy Poovey
	A. For Board Action
	1. 2006-2007 Career-Technical Education Plan Exhibit 13
XVI.	BOARD REPORTS/INFORMATION/POSSIBLE ACTION A project ment to the CCC & TI Board of Trustees Chairman Dr. Shoron S. Donnell
	 A. Appointment to the CCC&TI Board of Trustees – Chairman Dr. Sharon S. Pennell B. Schedule of 2006-07 Board Meetings – Chairman Dr. Sharon S. Pennell
	C. NSBA 66th Annual Conference Report – Vice-Chairman Mike LaBrose and Tim Hawkins
XVII.	ANNOUNCEMENTS
	A. Regular Board Meeting – July 10, 2006, 7:00 PM, Board Room, Education Center

XVIII. ADJOURNMENT