OFFICIAL MINUTES OF THE CALDWELL COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION

The Caldwell County Board of Education met at 6:45 PM on June 11, 2007, in the Board Room of the Education Center, Lenoir, North Carolina.

The following members were present:

Dr. Sharon S. Pennell, Vice-Chairman Chris Becker Linda Coffey Dr. Helen Hall Tim Hawkins Mike LaBrose

Chairman Dottie Darsie was absent.

Vice-Chairman Dr. Sharon S. Pennell called the meeting to order at 6:45 PM.

CLOSED SESSION

Upon motion of Tim Hawkins and second by Mike LaBrose, the Board unanimously approved to go into Closed Session to discuss personnel matters pursuant to N.C.G.S. Sect. 143-318.11 (A) (1).

RECONVENE TO OPEN SESSION

Upon motion of Mike LaBrose and second by Tim Hawkins, the Board unanimously agreed to adjourn the Closed Session at 6:55 PM and return to open session at 7:00 PM.

PUBLIC COMMENT

Vice-Chairman Dr. Sharon S. Pennell opened the meeting for public comment. There was no public comment.

OPENING CEREMONIES

Lou Harlow, Chaplain, Lenoir Police Department and Bible as Literature and History Teacher, Caldwell County Schools, gave the invocation and Amanda Goble, Bethany Kirby, Cory Smith, Brittany Smith, South Caldwell High School, Larkin London, South Caldwell High School Graduate and Heather Helton, CCC&TI student, led the Pledge of Allegiance.

ACTION - AGENDA

Upon motion of Mike LaBrose and second by Chris Becker, the board unanimously approved the proposed agenda with the following changes: a personnel addendum was added to Article XI, Item A and Item A, Board of Education/County Commissioners Liaison Committee Report, was deleted from Article XIV as presented by Superintendent Dr. Steve Stone.

ACTION - MINUTES

Upon motion of Dr. Helen Hall and second by Linda Coffey, the Board unanimously approved the minutes of the May 14, 2007, Regular Board Meeting and the May 14, 2007, Closed Session.

HONORS AND RECOGNITIONS

Superintendent Dr. Steve Stone presented a plaque to Roxy Poovey, James "Buzz" Sims, Elaine Tutterrow, Reba Walden and Vicka Weaver in recognition for their retirement from administrative service with the Caldwell County Schools. Chris Burton was unable to attend the meeting.

Tim Hawkins presented a certificate and lapel pin to Jill Pippin, Happy Valley School, in recognition for her selection as the K-6 NCCTM Elementary Math Teacher of the Year.

Mike LaBrose presented a certificate and lapel pin to Sue Kanupp, Gamewell Elementary School, for her selection as the Caldwell County School's 2007 Teacher Assistant of the Year.

On behalf of Chris Becker, Mike LaBrose presented a certificate and lapel pin to Estelita Spiva, Early Childhood Education Teacher Assistant, Granite Falls Elementary School, for her selection as the Caldwell County Smart Start Childcare Provider Teacher of the Year.

INFORMATION – UPDATE ON FIELD TRIP TO GULFPORT, MS

Lou Harlow, Chaplain, Lenoir Police Department and Bible as Literature and History Teacher, Caldwell County Schools, gave a brief presentation regarding the trip he and students from the Bible as Literature and History class made to Gulfport, MS to help the victims of Hurricane Katrina. Amanda Goble, Bethany Kirby, Cory Smith, Brittany Smith, South Caldwell High School, Larkin London, South Caldwell Graduate and Heather Helton, CCC&TI, were part of the team that was introduced at the meeting by Mr. Harlow.

<u>ACTION – 2007-2010 AIG PLAN</u>

Upon motion of Chris Becker and second by Dr. Helen Hall, the board unanimously approved the 2007-2010 Academically Intellectually Gifted Plan following a one month comment period as presented by Superintendent Dr. Steve Stone.

ACTION – REVISED POLICY 3300-STUDENT CONDUCT

Upon motion of Mike LaBrose and second by Linda Coffey, the board unanimously approved the revision to the attached Board Policy 3300, Student Conduct, following an additional one month comment period as presented by Superintendent Dr. Steve Stone.

ACTION – ADMINISTRATIVE POSITIONS

Upon motion of Linda Coffey and second by Mike LaBrose, the board unanimously approved the following recommendations for administrative positions for the 2007-2008 school year as presented by Superintendent Dr. Steve Stone: Appointment of David Colwell, Principal of North Charleston High School, Charleston, SC, as Principal of West Caldwell High School; reassignment of Robyn Stella from Principal at Whitnel Elementary School to Principal at Hudson Elementary School; and Chris Ackerman, Principal, West Lenoir Elementary School and Joe Hatfield, Principal, Happy Valley School, to be reassigned at a later date.

ACTION - PERSONNEL MATTERS

Upon motion of Dr. Helen Hall and second by Linda Coffey, the board unanimously approved the attached personnel matters as presented by Associate Superintendent for Human Resources Trish Johnson.

<u>ACTION – 2007-2008 TITLE I APPLICATION AND 2007-2008 SCHOOL</u> <u>IMPROVEMENT PLANS</u>

Upon motion of Mike LaBrose and Linda Coffey, the board unanimously approved the 2007-2008 Title I Application and upon motion of Dr. Helen Hall and second by Chris Becker, the board unanimously approved the 2007-2008 School Improvement Plans as presented by Associate Superintendent for Educational Program Services Dr. Caryl B. Burns.

ACTION – STUDENT TRANSFER REQUESTS FOR 2007-2008

Upon motion of Mike LaBrose and second by Tim Hawkins, the board unanimously approved the attached student transfer requests for 2007-2008, as presented by Associate Superintendent for Educational Program Services Dr. Caryl B. Burns.

ACTION – DRIVER'S EDUCATION CONTRACT

Upon motion of Dr. Helen Hall and second by Linda Coffey, the board unanimously approved the attached Driver's Education Contract to the North Carolina Driving School effective from July 1, 2007 to June 30, 2010, as presented by Associate Superintendent for Educational Program Services Dr. Caryl B. Burns.

ACTION – 2007-2008 CAREER-TECHNICAL EDUCATION PLAN

Upon motion of Dr. Helen Hall and second by Linda Coffey, the board unanimously approved the attached 2007-2008 Career-Technical Education Plan as presented by Associate Superintendent for Educational Program Services Dr. Caryl B. Burns.

ACTION-2007-2008 INTERIM BUDGET PROPOSAL

Upon motion of Tim Hawkins and second by Mike LaBrose, the board unanimously approved the attached 2007-2008 Interim Budget Proposal, as presented by Finance Officer Bob Query.

<u>ACTION – BUDGET AMENDMENTS FOR STATE PUBLIC SCHOOL FUND, LOCAL</u> <u>CURRENT EXPENSE FUND AND FEDERAL GRANTS FUND</u>

Upon motion of Chris Becker and second by Dr. Helen Hall, the board unanimously approved the attached budget amendments for the State Public School Fund, Local Current Expense Fund and the Federal Grants Fund, as presented by Finance Officer Bob Query.

BOARD COMMITTEE REPORTS

There were no board committee reports.

BOARD INFORMATION/POSSIBLE ACTION

Vice-Chairman Dr. Sharon S. Pennell instructed the Board of Education to hold an open ballot to appoint candidates of their choice to the CCC&TI Board of Trustees. Inez Jones' term expires June 30, 2007. The Board unanimously approved Inez Jones' for another four-year term, expiring June 30, 2011.

ANNOUNCEMENTS

Vice-Chairman Dr. Sharon S. Pennell announced the special budget meeting will be held on Friday, June 29, 2007 at 5:30 PM and the next regular Board Meeting on Monday, July 9, 2007, 7:00 PM in the Board Room of the Education Center.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business to come before the board, upon motion of Mike LaBrose, second by Tim Hawkins, and the unanimous approval of the board, the meeting was adjourned at 7:45 PM.

Signed_____ Chairman, Caldwell County Board of Education

Attest:

Secretary, Caldwell County Board of Education