PROPOSED AGENDA CALDWELL COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION

January 12, 2009 7:00 PM

The following items are included on the agenda with the approval of Dr. Sharon S. Pennell, Chairman. Additional items may be added to the agenda, or the order of business may be changed, at the discretion of the Chairman of the Board.

I. CALL TO ORDER

- **II. PUBLIC COMMENT** (Comments must apply to an item on the agenda and requests for public comment must be received by 4:30 PM on the date of the meeting. Three minutes is allotted per person with a 20 minute maximum time allotment for public comment.)
- **III. INVOCATION** by Mary Beth Benfield, 7th Grade Teacher, Granite Falls Middle School
- IV. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE TO THE FLAG led by Brett Parrish, Abigail Parrish, Dylan Mathewson and Taylor Randolph, 7th Grade Students, Granite Falls Middle School

V. APPROVAL OF THE AGENDA

VI. <u>APPROVAL OF MINUTES</u>

Exhibit 1

- December 1, 2008, Regular Board Meeting
- January 7, 2009, Board Retreat

VII. SPECIAL HONOR

VIII. HONORS AND RECOGNITIONS

- A. 2008 National Board for Professional Teaching Standards Certified Teachers: (Caldwell County Board of Education and Superintendent Dr. Steve Stone)
 - Caldwell Early College Elizabeth Grogan
 - Collettsville Elizabeth Davis and Kim Huffman
 - Gamewell Middle David Marshall
 - Granite Falls Elementary Mary Collins Hardy
 - Granite Falls Middle Dawn Carpenter, Mary Beth Benfield, Keith Atkins and Braley Speagle
 - Hibriten Shawna Greeno-Bridges, Leta Hartley and Rosalie Simmons
 - Hudson Elementary Allison Brown and Cindy Smith
 - Hudson Middle Misty Key
 - Lower Creek Elementary Beth Reeves
 - Oak Hill Jan Hinson
 - Sawmills Elementary Brad Wright
 - South Caldwell High Moira Brookshire, Kenny Ellison, Yvonne Lewis, Robbie Powers and Janet Stiles
 - West Caldwell Leslie Barger, Joy Martin, Jennifer Miller and Tericia Summers
- **B. John Spicer, Hibriten High School** In recognition for his selection as the North Carolina Economics Education Teacher of the Year (Mike LaBrose)
- C. Cindy Bennett, Whitnel Elementary School In recognition for her selection as the Caldwell County Teacher of Excellence for the Education of Exceptional Children recognized by the State of NC and the Department of Public Instruction at the Conference for Exceptional Children. (Chris Becker)
- **D.** Hibriten High School Sophomores Herc Ingels, Dillon Smart and Justin Sanders In recognition for placing second in the NC Western District Stock Market Game sponsored by the NC Council on Economic Education (Linda Coffey)

VIII. HONORS AND RECOGNITIONS

- **E. South Caldwell High School Quiz Bowl** In recognition for winning the 2008 Catawba Valley Quiz Bowl Classic (Linda Coffey)
- **F. 2008-09 Bright Ideas Grant Winners** Sarah Maney, Baton Elementary; Tracey Holton, Granite Falls Elementary; Charles Bogle, Whitnel Elementary; Ingrid Houck, Hudson Middle and Sharon Everhardt, William Lenoir Middle (Dottie Darsie)

IX. SUPERINTENDENT

A. For Board Information

- 1. Teen Tobacco Prevention Report Jessica Cowart, Healthy Caldwellians Teen Tobacco Prevention Coordinator
- 2. NCLB-21st Century Core Curriculum Update Associate Superintendent for Educational Program Services, Dr. Caryl Burns
- 3. Senior Project Associate Superintendent for Educational Program Services, Dr. Caryl Burns, and Maihlee Chue, Caldwell Career Center Middle College

B. For Board Action

1. Revision to Board Policies - One Month Comment Period

Exhibit 2

- 1600 Caldwell County Schools Strategic Plan
- 3610 Student Welfare
- 3810 Destruction of Exceptional Children's Records
- 2. Proposed New Board Policies One Month Comment Period

Exhibit 3

■ 4260 – Naming of School Facilities

3. NC New Schools Partnership Agreement

Exhibit 4

X. <u>ASSOCIATE SUPERINTENDENT FOR HUMAN RESOURCES</u> – Trish Johnson

A. For Board Action

1. Usual and Customary Personnel Matters

Exhibit 5

2. Student Transfer Requests for 2008-2009

Exhibit 6

XI. FINANCE OFFICER – Karla Miller

A. For Board Action

1. Budget Amendments – State Public School Fund, Local Expense Fund and Federal Grants Fund

Exhibit 7

XII. BOARD COMMITTEE REPORTS

A. County Commissioner/Board of Education Liaison Committee Meeting-Vice-Chairman Dr. Helen Hall

XIII. BOARD INFORMATION/POSSIBLE ACTION

A. 2009-2010 Board Committees – Dr. Sharon S. Pennell, Chairman

XIV. <u>ANNOUNCEMENTS</u>

- **A.** Next Regular Board Meeting February 9, 2009, 7:00 PM, Board Room, Education Center
- **B.** Community Board Meeting February 23, 2009, 7:00 PM, West Caldwell High School

XV. ADJOURNMENT