OFFICIAL MINUTES OF THE CALDWELL COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION

The Caldwell County Board of Education met on April 28, 2008, for a community meeting at Hibriten High School.

The following members were present:

Dottie Darsie, Chairman Dr. Sharon S. Pennell, Vice-Chairman Chris Becker Linda Coffey Dr. Helen Hall Tim Hawkins Mike LaBrose

The following administrative staff were present:

Dr. Steve Stone, Superintendent Ed Blair, School Board Attorney Trish Johnson, Associate Superintendent for Human Resource Services Dr. Caryl B. Burns, Associate Superintendent for Educational Program Services

Chairman Dr. Sharon S. Pennell called the meeting to order at 5:45 PM.

CLOSED SESSION

Upon motion of Tim Hawkins and second by Mike LaBrose, the Board unanimously approved to go into Closed Session to discuss personnel matters pursuant to N.C.G.S. Sect. 143-318.11 (A) (1).

RECONVENE TO OPEN SESSION

Upon motion of Mike LaBrose and second by Chris Becker, the Board unanimously agreed to adjourn the Closed Session at 6:40 PM and return to open session at 6:45 PM.

Following the performance by the Lower Creek Elementary School 5th Grade Recorders, Elaine Blackburn, Director, Chairman Dottie Darsie called the meeting to order at 7:00 P.M.

OPENING CEREMONIES

Chairman Dottie Darsie welcomed the community and thanked Lewis Wright, Principal, Hibriten High School, for hosting the meeting.

Chairman Dottie Darsie recognized the following individuals from The Education Center: Dr. Steve Stone, Superintendent; Donnie Bassinger, Associate Superintendent for Auxiliary Services; Trish Johnson, Associate Superintendent for Human Resource Services; Dr. Caryl Burns, Associate Superintendent for Educational Program Services; Libby Brown, Director, School Community Relations and Dawn Weese, Administrative Assistant to the Superintendent.

Chris Becker introduced Gail Cutts, 2008 Educator of the Year, Oak Hill Elementary School, who gave the invocation.

Linda Coffey introduced the following students that led the Pledge of Allegiance: Michael McCaleb and Isaac Sheehan, 8th Grade Students, Kings Creek Elementary School.

THE NATIONAL ANTHEM

Dr. Helen Hall introduced the Happy Valley Middle School Chorus, Lindsay Scarborough, Director, who sang The National Anthem.

STATUS REPORTS

Tim Hawkins recognized the following elementary schools and introduced the principal presenting the attached status reports for his/her respective school: Julia Curry, Davenport A+ School; Debbie Indicott, Lower Creek Elementary School, and Lisa Vaughn, Valmead Elementary School.

Mike LaBrose recognized the following K-8 and middle schools and introduced the principal presenting the attached status reports for his/her respective school: Andy Berry, Happy Valley School, Milland Bradley, Kings Creek School, Dr. Phyllis Blair, Oak Hill School and Dr. Pete Yount, William Lenoir Middle School.

Vice-Chairman Dr. Sharon S. Pennell recognized the following high schools and introduced the principal presenting the attached status reports for his/her respective school: Teresa Branch, Principal, Caldwell Early College and Lewis Wright, Hibriten High School.

PUBLIC COMMENT

Chairman Dottie Darsie opened the floor for public comment. There was no public comment.

SPECIAL PRESENTATIONS

Chairman Dottie Darsie introduced the following students that performed the special presentations: Davenport A+ School, Smart Block featuring Violin, Drumming, Dance, Hand Chimes, Drama and Vocal, Davenport A+ Connect Team, "Bouncy Ben Goes Shopping," Valmead Elementary School Kindergarteners, Audrey Mood and Ann Spencer, Directors, and the William Lenoir Middle School 8th Grade Chorus, Carla Reid, Director.

ADJOURNMENT

The meeting was adjourned at 8:21 P.M.

Signed _____ Chairman, Caldwell County Board of Education

Attest: